Some Days are Easier than Others

Friend Tom with Press at Rogers Pass

Today was another day of rust removal. Now my order at Acklands came in and I have better emery-cloth and some rust remover to try out. Had bought a new set of wrenches at Home Depot, an open end – close end ratchet combination set in the typical heavy plastic packaging that you need a set of shears to open. When I came to use the 9/16″ wrench I find the ratchet did not work, and looking at it closer it was a used wrench of a sightly different style (still a Husky though). Back to Home Depot for a refund, but that was not so easy. Even though the packaging claims lifetime warranty there was a lot of waffling going on, I felt they were of the opinion that they were letting me get away with something. Frustrating.

Then a slight, could have been bad mishap. I had attached the throw-off lever linkage and left the lever pushed forward. Then I worked on cleaning rust off the platen and the tympan bale areas. I left the top bale folded down while I got busy with something else. As I turned the flywheel cleaning the main rocker shaft I felt a bit of resistance on the flywheel. Hm that’s not right. As it turns out there is just the right amount of extra space left in the throw-off position so that the bale just gets squeezed a bit – without damage.

Note to self:
1. Never leave anything on the platen that could cause damage.
2. Always turn over the press for a full cycle by hand, and check if anything seems to take too much force!
3. Never leave the platen bales open!

Leave a comment

Filed under C&P, Letterpress

Leave a Reply

